FAQ

Question

What will visitors find at the Bourse?

The Bourse will become a new covered public space that will be open to the city's residents and passers-by free of charge during the day. It will be a central meeting place, with benches in the central gallery and a restaurant. It will also house the permanent experience centre entitled the 'Belgian Beer World' and provide access to the archaeological site of Bruxella 1238, the ruins of the 13th century Franciscan monastery. You will also be able to visit temporary exhibitions in one of the lounges, meet with your association or company, organise a debate in the 120-seat auditorium, etc. The people of Brussels will also have the opportunity to propose their own activities.

What are the opening hours of the Bourse?

With entrances on all four sides of the Bourse, you will have free access during the day to the public gallery, restaurant, terrace with a panoramic view of the City and the public toilets. The precise opening hours of the Bourse are not yet known.

When will local residents and passers-by be able to visit the terrace on the roof?

The terrace, which offers a panoramic view over Brussels, is freely accessible during the opening hours of the Bourse. The terrace is limited in size and is intended for visitors who want to see the City from above. It is not intended to be used for festivities. The roof terrace will close at 10 pm at the latest.

Outside the opening hours of the 'Belgian Beer World’ permanent experience centre, the skybar (marking the end of the experience with a short beer tasting) is open to everyone.

Will the stairs of the Bourse remain freely accessible?

No location in Brussels better symbolises freedom of expression than the steps of the Bourse. Even after the renovation of the building, the stairs will be there for all City visitors, including citizens who wish to express themselves openly.

So many entrances... are they all really necessary?

With the exception of the entrance at St. Nicholas' Church, these are all existing entrances that will be reopened. The additional entrance at the corner of Rue de la Bourse and Rue Tabora (alongside the St. Nicholas Church) should help to regulate the flow of pedestrians to and from the Grand-Place and will also make the Bourse more accessible to people with disabilities. Current fire safety standards require larger entrance doors to make the building accessible to the public.

How many square metres of the Bourse are dedicated to the permanent experience centre on Belgian brewing culture?

The Belgian Beer World will be located on the upper floors of the Bourse. In total, it will cover +/- 4,500 m², or just over a third of the total surface area of the Bourse (12,000 m²).

Which breweries will take part in the permanent exhibition?

More than 100 breweries - from large and medium-sized breweries to the smallest brewery in our country - will showcase the versatility and diversity of Belgian brewing culture. Three Brussels breweries will also participate in the project. An overview can be found here: https://beursbourse.be/sites/default/files/BBW-Deelnemende-brijen-janua…

What will be the focus of "Belgian Beer World"?

The permanent experience centre will be open to the general public as well as to genuine beer enthusiasts. Amongst other aspects, visitors will be immersed in medieval beer craftsmanship, in the influence of Belgian beer brewing on a global scale and the overall brewing process.

Will the future Bourse be operated by the Federation of Belgian Brewers?

No, the Federation of Belgian Brewers are funding partners of the experience to showcase the Belgian brewing culture. The City of Brussels will be responsible for the management of the Bourse through the creation of an autonomous municipal company (Société Communale Autonome) developed for this purpose.

How much will the use of the multipurpose rooms cost?

The autonomous municipal company that the City will establish will determine the pricing. It will set democratic prices. Accessibility to a wide public is one of the commitments of the autonomous municipal company.

How many jobs will the refurbishment of the Bourse generate?

The refurbished Bourse will provide many employment opportunities. Staff will be needed for the management (such as ticket sales) of the Belgian Beer World experience centre and the Bruxella 1238 archaeological site, the restaurant, the skybar, the rental of meeting rooms, the organisation of cultural events, security, cleaning, etc. At present, about 20 staff members are expected to be employed for the first two years and 40 over the long term.

What will happen to the furniture and paintings left in the Bourse after the departure of the stockbrokers?

Some of the original furniture will remain in the renovated Bourse, for example the benches and baskets into which the stockbrokers threw their documents and around which they negotiated. With regard to other items, such as the floor of the central gallery, we will look for interested organisations and individuals. Some of the heritage and paintings will be preserved thanks to the City’s curators, who have made a detailed inventory.

Who is involved in the renovation and refurbishment project?

The renovation and refurbishment of the Bourse is a project of the City of Brussels, the architectural firm Robbrecht en Daem, BEAU and Popoff, the Directorate of Cultural Heritage, the Region of Brussels-Capital, Beliris, FEDER and the Belgian Brewers.

FAQ

Question

Qu’est-ce que les visiteurs retrouveront à la Bourse ?

La Bourse deviendra un nouvel espace public couvert qui sera ouvert gratuitement et librement aux habitants de la Ville et aux passants pendant la journée. Ce sera un lieu de rencontre central, avec des bancs dans la galerie centrale et un restaurant. Elle hébergera également le centre d’expérience permanent ‘Belgian Beer World’ et donnera accès au site archéologique de Bruxella 1238, les ruines du monastère franciscain du 13ème siècle. Vous pourrez également visiter des expositions temporaires dans un des salons, vous réunir avec votre association ou entreprise, organiser un débat dans l'auditorium de 120 places... Les Bruxellois pourront proposer leurs propres activités.

Quelles seront les heures d'ouverture de la Bourse ?

Avec les entrées sur les quatre côtés de la Bourse, vous aurez accès gratuitement pendant la journée à la galerie publique, au restaurant, à la terrasse avec vue panoramique sur la Ville et aux toilettes publiques. Les heures d'ouverture exactes de la Bourse ne sont pas encore connues.

Quand les citoyens et les passants pourront-ils visiter la terrasse sur le toit ?

La terrasse avec une vue panoramique sur Bruxelles est accessible librement pendant les heures d’ouverture de la Bourse. La terrasse est de taille limitée et s'adressera aux visiteurs qui veulent voir la Ville d’en haut. Elle n’est pas prévue pour les festivités. Ce toit-terrasse fermera au plus tard à 22h.

En dehors des heures d'ouverture du centre d’expérience permanent ‘Belgian Beer World’, le skybar (le point final du centre d’expérience pour une courte dégustation de bière) est ouvert à tous.

Les escaliers de la Bourse resteront-ils librement accessibles ?

Aucun endroit à Bruxelles ne symbolise mieux la liberté d'expression que les marches de la Bourse. Même après la rénovation du bâtiment, les escaliers seront là pour tous les visiteurs de la Ville, y compris les citoyens qui souhaitent s'exprimer ouvertement.

Tant d'entrées, est-ce nécessaire ?

À l'exception de l'entrée à hauteur de l'église Saint-Nicolas, il s'agit d'entrées existantes que nous allons rouvrir. L'entrée supplémentaire à l'angle de la rue de la Bourse et de la rue Tabora (à hauteur de l’église Saint-Nicolas) devrait réguler le flux des piétons vers et depuis la Grand-Place et rendra également la Bourse accessible aux personnes handicapées. Les normes actuelles de sécurité incendie exigent des portes d'entrée plus larges pour rendre le bâtiment accessible au public.

Combien de mètres carrés de la Bourse sont dédiés à l’exposition permanente sur la culture brassicole belge ?

Le ‘Belgian Beer World’ sera installé aux étages supérieurs de la Bourse. Au total, il s’agit de +/- 4 500 m², soit un peu plus d'un tiers de la surface totale de la Bourse (12 000 m²).

Quelles brasseries participeront à l'exposition permanente ?

Plus de 100 brasseries – de grandes et moyennes tailles jusqu’à la plus petite brasserie de notre pays – mettront en avant la polyvalence et la diversité de la culture brassicole belge. Un aperçu peut être trouvé ici : https://beursbourse.be/sites/default/files/BBW-Deelnemende-brijen-janua…

Quel sera le focus du 'Belgian Beer World' ?

Le centre d’expérience permanent s'adressera aussi bien au grand public qu'aux vrais férus de bière. Ils seront entre autres plongés dans l'artisanat médiéval de la bière, dans l'influence du brassage de la bière belge au niveau mondial et dans le processus de brassage.

La future Bourse sera-t-elle exploitée par les Brasseurs Belges ?

Non, les Brasseurs Belges sont des partenaires dans le financement du centre d’expérience de la culture brassicole belge. C'est la Ville de Bruxelles qui assurera la gestion de la Bourse par le biais d'une régie communale autonome qui sera créée à cet effet.

Combien coûtera l'utilisation des salles polyvalentes ?

La régie communale autonome que créera la Ville en déterminera la tarification. Elle fixera des prix démocratiques. L'accessibilité à un large public est l'un des engagements de la régie communale autonome.

Combien d'emplois la reconversion de la Bourse va-t-elle générer ?

La Bourse rénovée fournira de nombreux emplois. Du personnel sera nécessaire pour la gestion (comme la vente de billets) du centre d’expérience ‘Belgian Beer World’ et du site archéologique Bruxella 1238, le restaurant, le skybar, la location des salles de réunion, l'organisation d'événements culturels, la sécurité, le nettoyage... Actuellement, on prévoit une vingtaine de membres du personnel pour les deux premières années et 40 pour le long terme.

Qu'advient-il des meubles et des tableaux laissés dans la Bourse après le départ des agents de change ?

Certains des meubles d'origine auront une place dans la Bourse rénovée, tels que les bancs et les corbeilles autour desquelles les agents de change négociaient. Pour d'autres éléments, comme le parquet de la galerie centrale, on cherchera des organisations et des personnes intéressées. Une partie du patrimoine et des peintures sera conservée grâce aux conservateurs de la Ville qui ont réalisé un inventaire minutieux.

Qui est impliqué dans le projet de rénovation et de reconversion ?

La rénovation et la reconversion de la Bourse sont un projet de la Ville de Bruxelles, du bureau d'architectes Robbrecht en Daem, BEAU et Popoff, de la Direction du Patrimoine culturel, de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale, de Beliris, de FEDER et des Brasseurs Belges.